On DEBT

Wow.

Wow.

Wow.

DEBT has exploded in a way I had never anticipated. It’s thrilling, and honestly for me, a little nerve-wracking. It’s the kind of thing I dreamed of when I first published Strapped a year and four months ago: releasing a book that people buzz about. And now it’s happening and I don’t know what to do with myself! LOL.

Anyway, I have been getting a lot of messages. So I figured the best way to address the most common one would be in a blog post: What’s next?

I always intended for DEBT to be a standalone. After writing the long trilogy that is Strapped, I just want to be able to switch from one project to the next. I have so many ideas, and they aren’t all in the same genre. That’s what keeps me fresh, it makes my writing improve. I don’t want to be formulaic as far as putting out the same type of book over and over. I would get bored and lose my passion. I have a very shitty attention span that way. So as soon as I outlined DEBT, I put everything into this one book and I already had others waiting to be written. I still feel that way.

(You might want to stop here if you want to go 100% blind into DEBT.)

I made a decision to end DEBT the way I did. This was the story of the past and present converging to the very spot they end in the book. They end up where they will always inevitably end up, back with each other, for better or for worse. As a reader, I am not a fan of detailed endings that go out into the future and give you a summary of their future lives. As a result, I very rarely write them because I write what I like to read. I know that makes me an outlier, but that’s how I write. To write some picket fence future for Tax and Mia would not be in line with the life they will have to face. Their futures will be complex, not something I could even sum up in an epilogue or novella. And I just want to leave them in their moment of tearful and joyous reunion. That is where I wanted to say goodbye to the characters and their story. They now have each other and will sure as hell need each other to face the pain they have both endured.

Now, I’m not saying never, because I could have a moment of inspiration in the shower and suddenly I am writing a related book.

For now, I will be moving on to my next project which is nothing like DEBT, or Strapped, or GRS. I’ll be posting the title and blurb soon!

Make sure to sign up to my newsletter to stay tuned if you are not already signed up! eepurl.com/QXnXj

3 thoughts on “On DEBT

  1. Thank you for letting us know that there so far there will not be another book after Debt. I am a fan of my HEA’s and there was an OMG ending. It is good to know that you write what you like to read! I am really looking forward to seeing what kind of book you are writing next.

  2. Thank you for posting this blog – it was really helpful. I really did enjoy the book but was a little let down at the ending…it seemed as though that was it and there wasn’t a book 2. However, with this new information I am able to read the ending in a different way and it totally makes sense now! Looking forward to reading more books from you! 🙂

  3. Thank you SOOO much for this blog post. I have read the book twice – cover to cover – and had a massive book-hangover both times because it left me with the feeling, that they did NOT end up together! I thought Mia only “dreamt” of him, felt his presence – that he stayed away from her and that it was only in her mind that she felt him by her side.
    I thought (since english is not my first language) I have some lacking english-language skills, it just felt like an open ending, so I was looking for hints or information on the sequel, since I needed them to find the way to one another as they have been kept apart by so many missunderstandings.

    I will give myself some time now, read some flowers&rainbows&unicorns romance books to lighten up my spirits, then with this given knowledge that I have from this post, I shall read DEBT again with a new mindset and it will be even better then the fist two times! 😀

Leave a Reply

